New essays on musical understanding / Peter Kivy.

Saved in:
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Kivy, Peter.
Format: Book
Published: Oxford : Clarendon, 2001.
Online Access:Publisher description
Table of Contents:
  • Note-for-note : work, performance and early notation
  • Music, will, and representation
  • On Hanslick's inconsistency
  • Making the codes and breaking the codes : two revolutions in twentieth-century music
  • Auditor's emotions : contention, concession, compromise
  • Experiencing the musical emotions.
  • Arousal theory of musical expression : rethinking the unthinkable
  • Absolute music and the new musicology
  • Movements and 'movements'
  • Music in memory and Music in the Moment
  • How to forge a musical work.