Beethoven's symphonies : an artistic vision / Lewis Lockwood.

More than any other composer, Beethoven left to posterity a vast body of material that documents the early stages of almost everything he wrote. From this trove of sketchbooks, Lewis Lockwood draws us into the composer's mind, unveiling a creative process of astonishing scope and originality. F...

Full description

Saved in:
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Lockwood, Lewis (Author)
Format: Book
Published: New York : W. W. Norton & Company, 2017
Table of Contents:
  • Introduction : "The triumph of this art"
  • The first symphony
  • The second symphony
  • The Eroica symphony
  • The fourth symphony
  • The fifth symphony
  • The "Pastoral" symphony
  • The seventh symphony
  • The eighth symphony
  • The ninth symphony
  • Epilogue
  • Appendix : Symphonic concept sketches and movement-plan.