Music and fantasy in the age of Berlioz / Francesca Brittan.

Saved in:
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Brittan, Francesca (Author)
Format: Book
Published: Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2020.
Series:New perspectives in music history and criticism.
Summary:In this book, Francesca Brittan invites us to listen to fantasy, attending both to literary descriptions of sound in otherworldly narratives, and to the wave of "fantastique" musical works published in France through the middle decades of the nineteenth century, including Berlioz's 1830 Symphonie fantastique and pieces by Liszt, Adam, Meyerbeer and others.
Physical Description:357 pages : music ; 26 cm.
Bibliography:Includes bibliographical references (pages [326]-350) and index.