Masterworks of the Orchestral Repertoire : a Guide for Listeners.

The fullest enjoyment of an orchestral performance or a record concert comes with a background of knowledge about the music itself. This handbook is designed to help music lovers get the ultimate pleasure from their listening by providing them with that b.

Saved in:
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Ferguson, Donald N.
Format: Electronic
Published: Minneapolis : University of Minnesota Press, 1954.
Online Access:Click for online access
Table of Contents:
  • A WORD TO THE READER; JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH (1685-1750); BELA BARTOK (1881-1945); LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN (1770-1827); HECTOR BERLIOZ (1803-1869); GEORGES BIZET (1838-1875); ERNEST BLOCH (b. 1880); ALEXANDER BORODIN (1834-1887); JOHANNES BRAHMS (1833-1897); ANTON BRUCKNER (1824-1896); ERNEST AMEDÉE CHAUSSON (1855-1890); LUIGI CHERUBINI (1760-1842); FRANÇOIS FRÉDÉRIC CHOPIN (1810-1849); AARON COPLAND (b. 1900); CLAUDE ACHILLE DEBUSSY (1862-1918); PAUL DUKAS (1865-1935); ANTONIN DVORÁK (1841-1904); EDWARD ELGAR (1857-1934); MANUEL DE FALLA (1877-1946); CÉSAR FRANCK (1822-1890).