Bizet / Hugh Macdonald.

Today, Georges Bizet is most immediately recognized as the composer of the acclaimed opera Carmen. In the new Master Musicians edition of Bizet, author Hugh Macdonald takes an in-depth look at the composer's entire life and oeuvre. Featuring the latest in Bizet scholarship, including previously...

Full description

Saved in:
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Macdonald, Hugh, 1940- (Author)
Format: eBook
Published: New York : Oxford University Press, 2014.
Series:Master musicians series.
Online Access:Click for online access
Table of Contents:
  • Cover
  • Copyright
  • Dedication
  • Contents
  • Preface
  • List of Illustrations
  • CHAPTER ONE: 1838-1857: Le Docteur Miracle
  • CHAPTER TWO: 1858-1860: Don Procopio
  • CHAPTER THREE: 1860-1863: Les Pêcheurs de perles
  • CHAPTER FOUR: 1864-1865: Ivan IV
  • CHAPTER FIVE: 1866-1867: La Jolie Fille de Perth
  • CHAPTER SIX: 1868-1870: La Coupe du Roi de Thulé
  • CHAPTER SEVEN: 1870-1872: Djamileh
  • CHAPTER EIGHT: 1872-1873: Don Rodrigue
  • CHAPTER NINE: 1873-1875: Carmen
  • CHAPTER TEN: 1875-2014: Life after Death
  • APPENDIX A: Calendar
  • APPENDIX B: List of Works
  • APPENDIX C: Personalia
  • Select Bibliography
  • Works Index
  • Index.