Orchestrating the nation : the nineteenth-century American symphonic enterprise / Douglas W. Shadle.

Saved in:
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Shadle, Douglas W. (Author)
Format: eBook
Published: New York : Oxford University Press, 2015.
Online Access:Click for online access
Summary:During the 19th century, nearly 100 symphonies were written by over 50 composers living in the United States. With few exceptions, this repertoire is virtually forgotten today. In 'Orchestrating the Nation', author Douglas W. Shadle explores the stylistic diversity of this substantial repertoire and uncovers why it failed to enter the musical mainstream.
Physical Description:1 online resource : illustrations (black and white)
Bibliography:Includes bibliographical references and index.
Source of Description, Etc. Note:Online resource; title from home page (viewed on October 9, 2015).